Re-Elected Board of Education Members Sworn In to New Terms

Maria Parham Medical Center Left Background Ad
joel t cheatham insurance

At the meeting of the Vance County Board of Education Monday night, Board of Education members who were re-elected in November were sworn in to serve new four-year terms.

Those receiving the oath were Gloria J. White, Ruth Hartness, Margaret Ellis and Darlynn Oxendine. The Honorable Henry Hight, Jr. administered the oath of office.

Each of the incumbent Democrats was unopposed in the general election.

In the May primary, Margaret Ellis defeated challenger Omega Perry with 75.92 percent of the votes. Ruth Hartness defeated Marcia Allen in the primary by earning 68.85 percent of the votes.

Connect With The Author

About John C. Rose

John is a graduate of Northern Vance High School & UNC-Chapel Hill with a Bachelor of Arts in Broadcast Journalism. He has been a radio personality since 1989.

John is the Marketing Consultant, News, Sports, & Town Talk Broadcaster, Technician, & Treasurer for WIZS Radio.

He is the current On-site Radio Engineer for Duke Basketball and Football and has been their scoreboard announcer in the past as well.

View All Posts

Related Posts

Boyd Cheverolet

C & P Body Shop 1
C & P Body Shop 2
C & P Body Shop 3
Home Credit 3
Edward Jones


Maria Parham Medical Center Left Background Ad