Pinkston Street Elementary staff take home VCS Spirit Award


Pinkston Street Elementary staff members won the “Spirit Award” for Vance County Schools at the district’s Convocation for all employees on August 17.


Staff members were recognized as recipients of the award after their fantastic job in showing great school spirit as they were introduced at the Convocation in McGregor Hall.


All staff members wore “Pinkston Street Army” t-shirts, completed in Army green with gold lettering, and joined in a rousing cheer to show they are ready to begin the 2017-2018 school year.


They were led by Principal Heddie Somerville and Assistant Principal Jacqueline Crosson. They are shown in the photo, from left, with Principal Carnetta Thomas of L.B. Yancey Elementary School.


Superintendent Anthony Jackson presented Somerville with the large “VCS Spirit Award” pencil that is given to the school displaying the best school spirit at the event.


Staff members at Eaton-Johnson Middle School and Henderson Middle School, finished second and third, respectively, in the judging for the “VCS Spirit Award.”

Taylor New Eaton-Johnson Principal

— courtesy Vance County Schools

Students, parents and members of the community will have an opportunity to meet Travis Taylor, the new principal at Eaton-Johnson Middle School, on August 10.

The school is hosting meet-and-greet sessions entitled, “Tea with Taylor,” on August 10 from 9 to 11 a.m. and 4 to 6 p.m.

Everyone should plan on attending one of the sessions to get to know Mr. Taylor and meet the school’s two assistant principals, Lemondre Watson and Sandra Byrd.

Vance County Schools announces Early College Laptop Distribution Date

Vance County Schools

For Immediate Release

July 26, 2017

Laptop computers for Early College High School students will be given out on Monday, July 31, from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. in the school located on the top floor of Building 2 on the campus of Vance-Granville Community College near Henderson.

Students and parents should plan to pick up their laptop computer on this day. For those students who want to opt out of using a school system issued computer, the school’s opt-out form should be completed and returned to school officials.

Eaton-Johnson Students Attend First Ever Camp Discovery

This year, rising sixth, seventh and eighth graders had the opportunity to experience the first ever Camp Discovery at Eaton-Johnson Middle School.

Partnering with the Henderson chapter of Triangle Literacy Council, Eaton-Johnson was able to offer a new and exciting summer bridge camp opportunity for students. Over the course of three weeks, campers participated in reading and literacy activities, created hands-on math, science and technology projects, and took a Character Education Course designed specifically for middle school students. Campers also participated in several sports and recreation mini-blocks throughout the camp session, including a trip to the movie theater to see animation in action.

The inaugural Camp Discovery season concluded with a very special awards ceremony on July 13. At the ceremony, parents and other family members shared in recognizing the incredible accomplishments of EJMS campers. Each camper received a Certificate of Program Completion and many campers also won individual awards. As part of Eaton-Johnson’s ongoing collaboration with Triangle Literacy Council, every camper was given a new personal computer. The summer program represents the third segment of a year-long collaboration between Eaton-Johnson Middle School, Henderson Middle School and Triangle Literacy Council. To date, the program has served over 200 middle school students in Vance County and awarded more than $50,000 worth of new computers to students. Most of the students received their new computers in June, following their completion of academic work in the second semester of last school year.

Vance County Schools sets date for Early College Orientation

Vance County Schools

For Immediate Release

July 12, 2017

The orientation session for new students and their parents at the Vance County Early College High School is set for Thursday, July 20, at 9 a.m. in the Vance-Granville Community College Civic Center. All incoming ninth graders and their parents are urged to attend to receive valuable information.

VCSFRC to sponsor a “Starting the Year Off Right” Lunch

Vance County Schools

For Immediate Release

July 12, 2017

Our Vance County Schools Family Resource Center is sponsoring a lunch and learn workshop entitled, “Starting the Year Off Right” for elementary school parents on Wednesday, August 9, from 12 to 2 p.m. in the Farm Bureau Room at Perry Memorial Library in Henderson.

The workshop is free.

The workshop is being presented in partnership with the Vance County Cooperative Extension Service and its “Incredible Years” parenting educators.

Space is limited for the workshop and interested parents are urged to call 252-438-8188 to register by Tuesday, July 25.

The workshop will focus on topics including homework tips, parent conferencing, discipline issues and more. Lunch will be provided for participants, but you must register in advance.

Interested parents also may contact Cassandra Evans, coordinator of the school system’s Federal Programs and Parent Engagement, at 252-492-2127 for more information on the workshop.